كلمة سعادة رئيس مجلس الإدارة اجتماع الجمعية العامة المنعقد بتاريخ 29/2/2012

General Assembly Meeting

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم،،،

حضرات السادة المساهمين الكرام،

الحضور الأفاضل،

السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته،

بالأصالة عن نفسي وبالنيابة عن السادة أعضاء مجلس الإدارة الكرام، أود بهذه المناسبة أن أتقدم إليكم جميعاً بوافر الشكر والامتنان على تلبيتكم دعوتنا لحضور هذا الاجتماع، كما وأود أيضاً أن اشكر السادة أعضاء المجلس وجهاز الإدارة التنفيذية على ما تم تحقيقه من إنجازات خلال العام المنصرم، وخاصة في ظل المنافسة الموجودة واستمرار تبعات الأزمة المالية العالمية التي هزت مختلف أسواق المال في العالم.

وكما تعلمون أن آثار الأزمة المالية التي بدأت منذ عام 2008 لا تزال قائمة وأن اقتصاديات دول الاتحاد الأوروبي لا تزال تواجه صعوبات كبيرة لدرجة أن بعض هذه الدول مهددة بالانهيار الكامل، هذا عدا عن الأحداث السياسية التي تمر بها منطقة الشرق الأوسط، الأمر الذي أدى إلى وجود تباطؤ بمختلف اقتصاديات دول العالم بما فيها اقتصاديات الدول المتقدمة، حيث اضطرت بعض هذه الدول إلى إجراء إصلاحات اقتصادية غير مسبوقة للخروج من هذه الأزمة.

ونحن كمصرفيين لا بد وأن نكون حذرين لأننا لا نستطيع التكهن بما ستؤول إليه اسواق المال في المنطقة إذا ما وقعت كوارث أخرى خلال الفترة القادمة، إلا أننا وبالرغم من كل هذه الأحداث وبفضل القيادة الرشيدة لحضرة صاحب السمو الشيخ حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني – أمير البلاد المفدى ولقوة ومتانة الاقتصاد القطري وفوز دولة قطر في مونديال 2022 لا نزال ننظر للمستقبل بتفاؤل حيث نتوقع بإذن الله أن تشهد دولة قطر حركة متنامية غير مسبوقة بكافة القطاعات الاقتصادية وطرح المزيد من المشاريع التنموية خلال السنوات القادمة، مما سينعكس بشكل إيجابي على مستوى أداء القطاع المصرفي في قطر بشكل عام وعلى أداء بنك الدوحة بشكل خاص.

وفي نهاية عام 2011 حققنا وبحمد الله تعالى نسب نمو عالية بكافة المؤشرات المالية حيث ارتفع إجمالي الموجودات بنسبة 11% ليصل إلى 52.4 مليار ريال قطري كما نمت محفظة القروض والسلف بنسبة 15.7% وإجمالي ودائع العملاء بنسبة 2.8%، وارتفع إجمالي حقوق المساهمين بنسبة 17.3% ليصل إلى 7.1 مليار ريال قطري. كما وحققنا أيضاً نسبة نمو في صافي ارباح البنك تعادل 17.7%، حيث بلغ صافي الربح في نهاية العام 1.24 مليار ريال قطري بالمقارنة مع 1.05 مليار ريال قطري عام 2010 إضافة إلى نسبة نمو تعادل 11.4% في إجمالي الإيرادات التشغيلية. وقد انعكست هذه النتائج الطيبة على معدلات الأداء، حيث بلغت نسبة العائد على متوسط حقوق المساهمين 22% ونسبة العائد على متوسط الموجودات 2.49%.

وفي ذات العام قمنا بإجراء بعض التعديلات على استراتيجية أعمال البنك وخاصة فيما يتعلق بأنشطة الدوحة الإسلامي والفروع الخارجية، حيث تم بالفعل إيقاف أنشطة الدوحة الإسلامي وفرع نيويورك، كما بدأنا بإجراءات استخراج التراخيص اللازمة لإنشاء مكتب تمثيل للبنك في نيويورك وإجراءات إنشاء فرع آخر للبنك في إمارة أبو ظبي لممارسة وتقديم كافة الأعمال والخدمات المصرفية. هذا وتضمنت الخطة المستقبلية للبنك أيضاً على تطبيق استراتيجيات فعالة في مجال إدارة المخاطر وعلى استقطاب الكوادر القطرية ورفع مستويات أداء الموظفين وقنوات توصيل الخدمات، إضافة إلى تنويع مصادر دخل البنك وتعزيز وتقوية مركزه المالي للوصول إلى أعلى مستوى من الكفاءة في الأداء التشغيلي.

كما قمنا أيضاً بتعزيز نظام الحوكمة في البنك، حيث اعتمدنا مجموعة من السياسات والإجراءات فيما يتعلق بواجبات ومسؤوليات مجلس الإدارة واللجان المنبثقة عن المجلس ومسؤوليات وواجبات اللجان المشكلة من الإدارة ومبادئ المهنة الأخلاقية، وتم تحديد أدوار ومسؤوليات كل عضو من السادة الأعضاء. هذا بالإضافة إلى تعزيز مفهوم الرقابة الداخلية في البنك ومفهوم الشفافية والإفصاحات وعلاقات المساهمين وحقوق أصحاب المصالح وغيرها.

وأخيرا، أود أن أتقدم باسمي وباسم السادة أعضاء مجلس الإدارة الكرام بخالص الشكر والعرفان لمقام حضرة صاحب السمو الشيخ/ حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني، أمير البلاد المفدى وإلى سمو ولي عهده الأمين الشيخ/ تميم بن حمد آل ثاني وإلى سعادة الشيخ/ حمد بن جاسم بن جبر آل ثاني – رئيس مجلس الوزراء ووزير الخارجية وإلى سعادة السيد/ يوسف حسين كمال – وزير المالية والاقتصاد وإلى سعادة الشيخ/ جاسم بن عبد العزيز بن جاسم بن حمد آل ثاني – وزير الأعمال والتجارة وإلى سعادة الشيخ/ عبد الله بن سعود آل ثاني، المحافظ وسعادة الشيخ/ فهد بن فيصل آل ثاني نائب المحافظ وإلى جميع المسؤولين بمصرف قطر المركزي ووزارة الأعمال والتجارة وهيئة قطر للأسواق المالية وبورصة قطر.

وختاما أتوجه بالتحية والشكر لجميع المساهمين والعملاء الكرام على ثقتهم بنا وإلى رئيس وأعضاء هيئة الرقابة الشرعية في الدوحة الإسلامي وجهاز الإدارة التنفيذية وجميع الموظفين في البنك على ما أبدوه من جهود خلال العام وللنتائج الطيبة التي تمكنا من تحقيقها.

والسلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته،،،

فهد بن محمد بن جبر آل ثاني
رئيس مجلس الإدارة

Statement of Chairman of the Board The General Assembly Meeting Held on Feb 29th, 2012

General Assembly Meeting

On behalf of myself and the Members of the Board of Directors (BOD), I would like to thank you all on this occasion for attending this meeting. I would also like to extend my thanks to the BOD and the Executive Management Team for the achievements realized during the past year in the midst of the fierce competition in the market and the continuing effects of the global financial crisis that rocked the capital markets worldwide.

As you are all aware, the implications of the global financial crisis which began in 2008 still exist, and the economies of the European Union countries are still facing great difficulties threatening some of these countries with the danger of entire collapse. In addition, the political events experienced in the Middle East led to a slowdown in the economies of various countries across the Globe including the economies of the developed countries, forcing some of those countries to make unprecedented reforms to exit from crisis.

We, as bankers must be very cautious because the financial markets in this region would be unpredictable if other disasters occurred in due course. However, despite of all these events and due to the wise leadership of His Highness, Sheikh Hamad Bin Khalifa Al-Thani, The Emir of Qatar, and the strength and durability of Qatar’s economy, in addition to Qatar being the hosting nation for FIFA World Cup in the year 2022, we are being optimistic about the future where we anticipate that Qatar will witness exceptional booming in all economic sectors and subsequently launching of many development projects in the coming years that will reflect positively on the performance of the banking industry in Qatar in general and of Doha Bank’s in particular.

By the end of year 2011, we achieved high growth rates in all financial indicators. The total assets rose by 11% reaching to QR 52.4 billion, total portfolio of loans and advances rose by 15.7%, total customers’ deposits rose by 2.8% and the total shareholders’ equity rose by 17.3% reaching to QR 7.1 billion. We also achieved a growth rate of 17.7% in net profit whereas the net profit realized by the end of the year was QR 1.24 billion compared to QR 1.05 billion in 2010 in addition to a growth rate equivalent to 11.4% in total operational income. These robust results were reflected into strong performance ratios particularly the return on average shareholders’ equity which was 22% and the return on average assets that was 2.49%.

In the same year, we carried out few amendments on the bank’s business strategy especially with regards to the activities of Doha Islamic Bank and overseas branches. Doha Islamic and New York branch activities were ceased. We have already started the process of obtaining the necessary license for the incorporation of a representative office for the bank in New York and incorporation of another full fledged branch in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi. The future plan of the bank also includes implementation of an effective Risk Management, recruiting Qatari Nationals, enhancing the levels of staff performance and banking channels’ services in addition to diversifying the bank’s income sources and strengthening its financial position towards achieving the highest effective levels of operational performance.

We also improved the bank’s Corporate Governance system whereby we approved a number of policies and procedures such as terms of reference for the Board, BOD committees, Executive Management’s committees as well as code of ethics and the roles and responsibilities of Directors. This is a part of promoting the concepts of internal control, transparency, disclosures, shareholders relations and the rights of shareholders.

Finally, on behalf of myself and the Board of Directors of Doha Bank, I would like to extend my sincere thanks and gratitude to H. H. The Emir, Sheikh Hamad Bin Khalifa Al-Thani, H. H. The Heir Apparent, Sheikh Tamim Bin Hamad Al-Thani, H. E. The Prime Minister and Foreign Minister, H.E. Sheikh Hamad Bin Jassim Al-Thani, H. E. Minister of Economy and Finance, Mr. Yousef Hussain Kamal, The Minister of Business & Trade, H.E. Sheikh Jassim Bin Abdul Aziz Bin Jassim Bin Hamad Al-Thani, , and H. E. The QCB Governor, Sheikh Abdullah Bin Saud Al-Thani, H. E. The Deputy QCB Governor, Sheikh Fahad Bin Faisal Al-Thani, and to all supervisors of Qatar Central Bank, Ministry of Business and Trade, Qatar Financial Markets Authority and Qatar Exchange for their continued cooperation and support.

My thanks and appreciation are also extended to the Shareholders, Customers, members of the Sharia’a Board of Doha Islamic, Executive Management team and all staff of the bank for their exerted efforts in achieving impressive results for Doha Bank.

Fahad Bin Mohammed Bin Jabor Al-Thani
Chairman