قطر تُحقّق صموداً مبهراً بعد عام من الحصار

Post Blockade

قطر تُحقّق صموداً مبهراً بعد عام من الحصار

نظّم بنك الدوحة يوم الأربعاء الموافق 26 سبتمبر 2018 في فندق فورسيزنز جلسة لتبادل المعرفة بعنوان “صمود قطر بعد عام من الحصار”. حضر المناسبة سعادة الشيخ فهد بن محمد بن جبر آل ثاني رئيس مجلس الإدارة، وسعادة الشيخ عبد الرحمن بن محمد بن جبر آل ثاني العضو المنتدب، فيما تقدّم قائمة الضيوف سعادة الشيخ عبد الله بن سعود آل ثاني محافظ مصرف قطر المركزي بالإضافة إلى عدد من كبار مسؤولي المؤسسات القطرية الرائدة وممثلي السفارات الأجنبية في البلاد.

وفي مستهل كلمته التي ألقاها بهذه المناسبة، تحدّث الدكتور ر. سيتارامان عن وضع الاقتصاد العالمي قائلاً: “وفقاً إلى مستجدات التوقعات الاقتصادية العالمية الصادرة عن صندوق النقد الدولي لشهر يوليو 2018 سيبلغ معدل النمو العالمي لعامي 2018 و2019 نحو 3.9٪. من ناحية أخرى، يُرجّح أن تسير عملية تطبيع السياسة النقدية في الاقتصاديات المتقدّمة بأسلوب منسّق وثابت. ومن المتوقع أن يظل نمو الاقتصاديات المتقدمة مرتفعاً عند 2.4٪ في عام 2018 قبل أن يتراجع إلى 2.2٪ في عام 2019. وتعكس التوقعات الاقتصادية لعام 2018 انخفاضًا كبيراً يفوق تقديرات اعتدال النمو في منطقة اليورو واليابان. وتواصل الأسواق معاناتها من توترات الحرب التجارية ولعل ارتفاع أسعار النفط هذا العام هي إحدى آثارها.”

Remarkable Resilience Post Blockade

وبمعرض حديثه عن الاقتصاد القطري، قال الدكتور ر. سيتارامان: “تشير بيانات صندوق النقد الدولي إلى أن إجمالي الناتج المحلي لدولة قطر سينمو إلى 2.6% هذا العام وسيبلغ متوسطه 2.7% خلال الأعوام 2019-2023 وذلك بفضل الجهود التي تبذلها الدوحة نحو زيادة طاقتها الانتاجية من الغاز الطبيعي المسال بنحو 30%”. وتابع بالقول: “اعتمدت موازنة قطر لعام 2018 على سعر تحفظي للنفط بقيمة 45 دولار أمريكي للبرميل كما حصل في موازنة عام 2017. من جهة أخرى، عملت قطر نحو ضمان اتساق سياستها النقدية والمالية. تُركّز رؤوية قطر الوطنية على أربعة ركائز1) التنمية البشرية 2) التنمية الاجتماعية 3) التنمية الاقتصادية 4) التنمية البيئية. ومؤخراً قامت وكالة موديز إنفستور سيرفيس بتعديل تصنيف الجدارة الائتمانية لقطر على المدى الطويل من سلبي إلى مستقر مُثبتتاً التصنيف الائتماني للديون الرئيسية غير المضمونة بالعملة الأجنبية والجدارة الائتمانية للبلاد عند الدرجة Aa3. ووفقاً إلى تقييم الوكالة بإمكان قطر الصمود بوجه المقاطعة الاقتصادية والمالية والدبلوماسية المفروضة عليها من قبل المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة والبحرين ومصر سواءً كانت بشكلها الحالي أو في حال تشديد الحصار ولفترة طويلة من الوقت دون أن يُضعف ذلك من السجل الائتماني للبلاد بشكل ملموس”. كما عدّد الدكتور ر. سيتارامان الإصلاحات التي تبنتها قطر مثل 1) قانون الاستثمار الجديد 2) قانون الإقامة الدائمة 3) الأمن الغذائي 4) مشروع قطار الأنفاق متناولاً أبرز التطورات الحاصلة مثل إصدار سندات الدين الحكومي ومؤكداً في حديثه على الصمود الباهر الذي أبدته قطر بعد الحصار.

كما ترأس الدكتور ر. سيتارامان حلقة النقاش التي عقدت بهذه المناسبة والتي ضمت عدداً من أبرز مسؤولي المؤسسات القطرية وفي مقدمتهم سعادة السيد يوسف محمد الجيدة الرئيس التنفيذي لمركز قطر للمال، وسعادة السيد فهد راشد الكعبي الرئيس التنفيذي لمؤسسة مناطق، وسعادة السيد صالح ماجد الخليفي الرئيس التنفيذي بالإنابة لبنك قطر للتنمية، وسعادة السيد راشد المنصوري الرئيس التنفيذي لبورصة قطر، وسعادة السيد مبارك السحوتي المدير التنفيذي لإدارة العلاقات التجارية في شركة حصاد الغذائية.

وفي مداخلته خلال حلقة النقاش تحدّث سعادة السيد يوسف محمد الجيدة الرئيس التنفيذي لمركز قطر للمال قائلاً: “تُقدّم هذه المناسبة منصة لطرح وتبادل الأفكار بخصوص بعض الفرص والتحديات الرئيسية التي تواجه قطر اليوم في ظل الحصار الجائر المفروض عليها. فالفرص تُخلق من رحم التحديات، وفعلاً هذا ما حدث. فعندما بدأنا العمل على مواجهة التحديات التي فرضها الحصار باتت قطر بشكل عام ومركز قطر للمال بشكل خاص أكثر مرونة واعتماداً على الذات، وخير دليل على ذلك هو النمو الملفت الذي حققه مركز قطر للمال بالرغم من الصعوبات المفروضة علينا إقليمياً فكان عام 2017 بامتياز العام الأسرع نمواً على مدى الأعوام الثلاث عشرة السابقة منذ تأسيسه. فقد ارتفع عدد الشركات الجديدة المسجّلة بنسبة 69% خلال الشهور الستة الاول من هذا العام. وكون المرونة الاقتصادية تُشكلّ الحجر الأساس لمختلف ركائز رؤوية قطر الوطنية لعام 2030 فأود القول هنا بكل ثقة أن مركز قطر للمال ملتزم تماماً بالعمل نحو تحقيق أهداف هذه الرؤية.”

من جانبه تحدّث سعادة السيد فهد راشد الكعبي الرئيس التنفيذي لمؤسسة مناطق عن الإصلاحات التي تم تبنيها على مستوى المناطق الحرّة العاملة في المناطق اللوجستية والصناعية مُشيراً إلى الحوافز المقدّمة للمستثمرين الراغبين بالعمل في هذه المناطق. ومن جملة المبادرات التي تم إطلاقها لجذب الشركات نحو الانتقال إلى المواقع الحالية إصدار التراخيص في ثلاثة أيام عمل وتقديم التمويل من البنوك المحلية والإعفاء من الإيجار لعامي 2018 و2019 وتخفيضه 50% للمتر.

بدوره تطرّق سعادة السيد راشد المنصوري الرئيس التنفيذي لبورصة قطر إلى زيادة حجم وإيرادات البورصة عقب تطبيق الإصلاحات مؤكداً إلى أن مؤشر السوق القطري يُعدّ من أفضل المؤشرات أداءً على المستوى العالمي حيث بلغت عائداته منذ بداية العام ولغاية تاريخه 15%. كما تحدث عن المبادرات المستقبلية التي تزمع بورصة قطر على اتخاذها.

من جانبه لفت سعادة السيد مبارك السحوتي المدير التنفيذي لدى شركة حصاد الغذائية بأن قطر تمكنت عقب الحصار من زيادة رقعة الأراضي المزروعة الأمر الذي أسهم في بلوغ انتاجها من الخضروات الطازجة 8000 طن سنوياً. هذا وقد أسّست حصاد شركة جديدة للتسويق والخدمات الزراعية “محاصيل” والتي تتمثل أهدافها في 1) دعم القطاع الزراعي الخاص بغية تمكينه من المساهمة في تحقيق البلاد لاكتفائها الذاتي 2) تذليل العقبات أمام المزارعين المحليين وبالتالي زيادة انتاجيتهم.

وتحدّث سعادة السيد صالح ماجد الخليفي المدير التنفيذي بالإنابة لبنك قطر للتنمية قائلاً: “بإمكان القطاع المالي مساعدة المؤسسات الصغيرة والمتوسطة على دعم نمو الاقتصاد القطري داعياً إلى العمل على إطلاق ورش للبحث والتطوير تُعنى بالقطاعات المختلفة للمؤسسات الصغيرة والمتوسطة بما يُمكنها بنهاية المطاف من المساهمة في نمو قطر.”

Qatar has Demonstrated Remarkable Resilience Post Blockade

Post Blockade

Qatar has Demonstrated Remarkable Resilience Post Blockade

Doha Bank hosted a knowledge sharing event at Four Season’s Hotel on 26th September on “Qatar’s Resilience Post Blockade- A Year on”. The session witnessed participation from H.E. Sh. Fahad Bin Mohammad Bin Jabor Al Thani, Chairman, H.E Sheikh Abdul Rehman bin Mohammad Bin Jabor Al Thani, Managing Director of Doha Bank. The Chief Guest of the event was HE Sheikh Abdulla Bin Saoud Al-Thani, Governor, Qatar Central Bank. The event was also attended by Leading Qatari executives and Diplomats from various embassies.

Dr.R.Seetharaman, CEO of Doha Bank gave the key note. In his keynote he spoke on Global Economy he said “IMF projects the global growth for 2018 and 2019 at 3.9 percent, as forecasted in the July 2018 WEO. Monetary policy normalization in advanced economies is assumed to proceed in a well communicated, steady manner.

Remarkable Resilience Post Blockade

Advanced economy growth is expected to remain above trend at 2.4 percent in 2018 before easing to 2.2 percent in 2019. The forecast for 2018 is lower largely reflecting greater-than-expected growth moderations in the euro area and Japan. Trade war tensions continue to hit markets and oil prices have surged this year.”

Dr. R. Seetharaman spoke on Qatar economy he said “ As per IMF, Qatar’s gross domestic product (GDP) is set to grow 2.6% this year and then average 2.7% during 2019-23, bolstered by Doha’s moves to increase liquefied natural gas production capacity by about 30%.” He also said that 2018 budget assumes the same conservative oil price of $45/barrel as used for the 2017 budget. The monetary and fiscal policy was aligned. He said Qatar National Vision focuses on four pillars 1) Human Development 2) Social Development 3) Economic Development and 4) Environmental Development. In recent times Qatar’s long-term issuer ratings have been changed from negative to stable by Moody’s Investors Service, which affirmed the long-term issuer and foreign-currency senior unsecured debt ratings at Aa3. According to Moody’s assessment, Qatar can withstand the economic, financial, and diplomatic boycott by Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Bahrain, and Egypt in its current form, or with possible further restrictions, for an extended period of time without a material deterioration of the sovereign’s credit profile.” He also spoke on the reforms implemented in Qatar like 1) Qatar’s New Investment Law 2) Qatar’s Permanent Residency 3) Qatar’s Food Security and 4) Qatar’s Metro Rail project and key developments such as Qatar Sovereign Bond issuance and stated Qatar has demonstrated remarkable resilience post blockade.

Dr.R.Seetharaman also moderated the Panel comprising of the Speakers Mr. Yousuf Mohamed Al-Jaida, CEO of Qatar Financial Centre, Mr.Fahad Rashid Al Kaabi, CEO of Manateq, Mr. Saleh Majid Al Khulaifi, Acting Executive Director of Qatar Development Bank, Mr. Rashid Al – Mansoori, CEO of Qatar Stock Exchange and Mr. Mubarak Al Sahuty, Executive Director, Commercial Relations Department, Hassad Food.

Mr. Yousuf Mohamed Al-Jaida, Chief Executive Officer, QFC Authority, stated: “The event provided a thought-provoking platform to discuss some of the key opportunities and challenges facing Qatar in light of the blockade. Challenges create new opportunities, and in facing these challenges, Qatar and the Qatar Financial Centre have become more resilient and more self-sufficient. A testament to this is the QFC’s incredible growth in spite of regional challenges, in fact, 2017 was the fastest growth period in our 13-year history. We have also seen a remarkable 69 percent increase in new firms during the first six months of this year. Economic resiliency is the cornerstone of the various pillars of the Qatar National Vision 2030, and the QFC is fully committed to achieving the goals of this vision.”

Mr. Fahad Rashid Al Kaabi, CEO of Manateq spoke on reforms undertaken in Free Zones operating in Logistic parks and Industrial zones, he mentioned about the incentives offered to operate in this zones. The permits were issued in three working days, financing was offered by local banks, exemption of rent during 2018 and 2019 and reduction of rent by 50% per meter were some of the initiatives taken to attract companies to relocate their existing locations.

Mr. Rashid Al – Mansoori, CEO of Qatar Stock Exchange (QSE) spoke on the increasing volumes and turnover on the exchange post the reforms executed. He also said the Qatari Market Index is one of the best performing indices globally with YTD returns of 15%. He also gave insight on future initiatives from QSE.

Mr. Mubarak Al Sahuty, Executive Director from Hassad Food said, Qatar post blockade has managed to increase the cultivated land to reach 8,000 tons of vegetables production per year. Hassad established a New Marketing and Agri-Services Co. “Mahaseel”. The aim for Mahaseel is to 1) Support the private agriculture sector to contribute to the country’s self-sufficiency and 2) ease the burden on local farmers to increase their production.

Mr. Saleh Majid Al Khulaifi, and Acting Executive Director of Qatar Development Bank said that “Financial sector can help SME to support Qatar’s economic growth. He called for working on research and development pertaining to various SME sectors which could contribute to Qatar’s growth.”