اتساع نطاق المشاريع النفطية في الكويت يشجع على الارتقاء بآليات العمل

Kuwait Project Space

استضاف بنك الدوحة جلسة لتبادل المعرفة بتاريخ 21 مايو 2014 تدور حول “الفرص والتحديات التي يشهدها قطاع المشاريع والعقود” وذلك في فندق جي دبليو ماريوت في الكويت. وقد حضر الندوة عدد كبير من الاقتصاديين وشركات المقاولات الكبرى والمصرفيين في الكويت.

وبمناسبة انعقاد الجلسة، تحدث الدكتور ر.سيتارامان، الرئيس التنفيذي لبنك الدوحة عن رؤيته حول الاقتصاديات العالمية قائلاً: “من المتوقع أن يشهد النمو العالمي زيادة تصل إلى 3.6% في عام 2014 و3.9% في عام 2015 مقارنةً بنسبة 3% في عام 2013 وذلك وفقاً لإحصائيات صندوق النقد الدولي. وتتمثل الأهداف الرئيسية للاقتصاديات المتقدمة في الحد من تطبيق السياسات المالية التقشفية فيما عدا اليابان حيث لا تزال تُطبق السياسات النقدية التيسيرية على نطاق واسع. هذا وسيساهم الطلب الخارجي المتزايد من الاقتصاديات المتقدمة في نمو الاقتصاديات الناشئة إلا أن السياسات المالية الأكثر انضباطاً تحد من نمو الطلب المحلي”.

وقد سلط الدكتور ر.سيتارامان الضوء على الاتجاهات الرئيسية في اقتصاديات دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي قائلاًً: “من المتوقع أن يشهد الناتج المحلي الإجمالي الخليجي بالأسعار الجارية نمواً بنسبة 3.5% في عام 2014 ليصل إلى 1.7 تريلون دولار أمريكي. وسيبلغ ميزان الحساب الجاري الخليجي كنسبة مئوية من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي بالأسعار الجارية 18٪ في عام 2014. هذا ومن المتوقع أن ينمو الاقتصاد الكويتي بنسبة 2.6 ٪ في عام 2014. وقد تضمنت ميزانية الكويت للسنة المالية 2014/2015 مصروفات قدرها 77 مليار دولار أمريكي وهو ما يعكس نسبة نمو معتدلة قدرها 3%. وقد تم تحديد أسعار النفط عند 75 دولار أمريكي للبرميل الواحد في السنة المالية الحالية وفقاً لموازنة الدولة. وقد شهد سوق الكويت للأوراق المالية انخفاضاً بنسبة أكثر من 2٪. ويخطط سوق الكويت للأوراق المالية إلى إطلاق التداول في المشتقات المالية في عام 2014. وتعتزم كذلك بورصة الكويت إلى دعوة المستثمرين للطرح العام الأولي”.

كما أشار الدكتور سيتارامان إلى المشاريع الكويتية قائلاً: “وفقاً لإحصائيات صندوق النقد الدولي، تعتبر التوقعات الاقتصادية الحالية في الكويت إيجابية، ومن المتوقع أن يرتفع الناتج المحلي الإجمالي غير النفطي من 2.7٪ عام 2013 إلى 3.9٪ هذا العام وذلك بدعم ومساندة الاستثمارات الحكومية في مشاريع البنية التحتية والنفط الكبيرة. ويتوقع أن تستثمر الكويت في مشاريع تبلغ قيمتها أكثر من 72.8 مليار دولار أمريكي في عام 2014. وقد وقعت شركة البترول الوطنية الكويتية عقود بقيمة 12 مليار دولار أمريكي مع ثلاثة اتحادات دولية في أبريل 2014 لتحديث مصفاتين وقامت كذلك بطرح عطاءات لبناء مصفاة جديدة بمليارات الدولارات. وهناك خطط لافتتاح مصفاة جديدة حاليا تسمى الزور. وسيتم بناء المرحلة الأولى من محطة كهرباء الزور الشمالية عبر مشروع مشترك مع شــركة جــــي دي أف ســـويس للطاقـــة الدولية”.

وقد دعى الدكتور/ ر. سيتارامان عدداً من الشخصيات إلى المشاركة في حلقة النقاش ومن بينهم السيد/ رياض الفرس، الأمين العام المساعد لقطاع التخطيط في الكويت، والسيد/ ستيف بيرتو، رئيس تطوير الأعمال في بنك الدوحة، والسيد/ أنينديا روي تشودري، شريك ورئيس إدارة المعاملات وإعادة الهيكلة في مؤسسة “كي بي إم جي”، والسيد/ إبراهيم ستوت، شريك في شركة “آيه إس آيه آر”.

ومن جهته تحدّث السيد/ رياض الفرس الأمين العام المساعد لقطاع التخطيط في الكويت عن طرح الحكومة الكويتية للعقود الجديدة، ومشاريع الوقود النظيف، وتمويل المشافي.

وبدوره تناول السيد/ ستيف بيرتو موضوع “إدارة مخاطر المشاريع وإدارة العقود” مشيراً إلى أهمية إدارة المخاطر في المشاريع والحاجة إلى فهم المخاطر ودورها في إدارة المشاريع. وتطرّق إلى المخاطر العامة للمشاريع التي يتم مواجهتها في العقود، والمخاطر الرئيسية للمشاريع في المستقبل القريب والعوامل الممكنة لتخفيفها.

ومن جانبه تحدّث السيد/ أنينديا روي تشودري عن “الهياكل الفعالة للحوكمة بالمشاريع الضخمة” مشيراً إلى التحديات الرئيسية للمشاريع الناجحة، والمبادئ الأساسية لإطار العمل الفعال، وإطار عمل الحوكمة بالمشاريع الضخمة.

فيما قام السيد/ إبراهيم ستوت بتسليط الضوء على المشاريع الضخمة الحالية في الكويت مشيراً إلى قيود حماية الأصول، وآليات حل النزاعات المعمول بها في الكويت.

وقد تبع حلقة النقاش جلسة سؤال وجواب تضمنت العديد من المواضيع التي جرى تناولها أثناء حلقة النقاش وفي الختام جرى دعوة المشاركين إلى تناول العشاء.

Oil Sector is Expected to Drive Kuwait Project Space in 2014

Kuwait Project Space

Doha Bank hosted a knowledge sharing session at JW Marriot Hotel, Kuwait on “Projects and Contracts Opportunities and Challenges”. The event happened on 21st May 2014 and was well attended by economists, major contracting companies and bankers in Kuwait.

Speaking at the conference Dr. R. Seetharaman, CEO of Doha Bank gave insight on Global economies He said “According to IMF Global growth is projected to strengthen from 3% in 2013 to 3.6% in 2014 and 3.9% in 2015 respectively. Key drivers in advanced economies are a reduction in fiscal tightening, except in Japan, and still highly accommodative monetary conditions. Emerging economies growth will be helped by stronger external demand from advanced economies, but tighter financial conditions will dampen domestic demand growth.”

Dr. R. Seetharaman highlighted the trends in GCC economies. He said “GCC GDP at current prices is expected to grow by 3.5% in 2014 and touch $1.7tn and GCC current account balance as a % of GDP at current prices will reach 18% in 2014. Kuwait economy expected to grow by 2.6% in 2014.Kuwait’s budget had projected expenditures for fiscal year 2014-15 amount to $77 billion, showing a reasonable growth of 3 per cent. The budget has assumed oil prices at $75 per barrel in the latest fiscal year. Kuwait stock market is down by more than 2%. It plans to launch derivatives trading in 2014.Kuwait stock exchange is planning IPO.”

Dr. R. Seetharaman gave insight on Kuwait projects. He said “According to IMF Kuwait’s current economic outlook is positive and non-oil GDP growth is forecast to accelerate from 2.7% in 2013 to 3.9% this year, backed by government investment in infrastructure and large oil projects. Kuwait has projects worth more than $72.8 bn expected in 2014.In April 2014 The Kuwait National Petroleum Company signed contracts worth $12 billion with three international consortia to upgrade two refineries and invited bids to build a new multi-billion-dollar refinery. Kuwait has plans to open a new refinery called Al Zour The first phase of Zour North power station, to be built by a venture led by GDF Suez, secured financing last year.”

Dr. R.Seetharaman invited various speakers to the Panel discussion. The speakers include Mr. Riyadh Al Faras, Assistant Secretary General for Planning Sector- Kuwait, Mr. Steve Berto, Head of Business Development – Doha Bank, Mr. Anindya Roy Chowdhury, Partner and Head -Transactions & Restructuring of KPMG and Mr. Ibrahim Sattout, Partner- Al Ruwayeh & Partners (ASAR).

Mr. Riyadh Al Faras, Assistant Secretary General for Planning Sector spoke on the release of new contracts for Kuwait by the Kuwait government. He also spoke on clean fuel projects and funding for aid hospitals.

Mr. Steve Berto spoke on “Project risk management and contract management”. He highlighted the importance of risk management in projects, the need to understand risk and its role in contract management. He also gave insights on common project risks faced in contracts. He also explained the key project risks in the near future and the possible mitigations for the same.

Mr. Anindya Roychowdhury, spoke on “Effective Governance structures on mega projects”. He highlighted the key challenges to successful projects. He also gave insight on the underlying principles for an effective framework. He explained on the governance framework on mega project.

Mr. Ibrahim Sattout gave insight on recent mega project in Kuwait. He also highlighted the restrictions on creating security for assets. He also gave insight on the dispute resolution mechanism prevailing in Kuwait.

The panel discussion was followed by a Question and Answer session on various matters which arose based on Panel discussion and concluded with a dinner.