تزايد مخاطر كساد الاقتصاد العالمي الاقتصاديات المالية عليها التحول إلى اقتصاديات حقيقية

Global Economy

عُقد منتدى الأعمال لدول الكومنولث 2011 في مدينة بيرث في أستراليا خلال الفترة بين 25 – 27 أكتوبر في مركز بورسوود للمؤتمرات. وقد شهد المنتدى حضور حشد كبير من المصرفيين والاقتصاديين العرب والأجانب، ولفيف من الخبراء من مختلف قطاعات الأعمال، بالإضافة إلى ممثلين عن عدد من الكيانات البارزة في قطاعات الأعمال. وقد جاء المنتدى هذا العام تحت عنوان “دول الكومنولث والدول المطلة على المحيطين الهندي والهادئ: شركاء في النمو العالمي”. وقد شارك السيد/ ر. سيتارامان، الرئيس التنفيذي لبنك الدوحة، في جلسة نقاش على هامش المنتدى بعنوان “الابتكار والخدمات المالية” بتاريخ 26 أكتوبر 2011.

وفي حديثه خلال الجلسة، قام السيد/ ر. سيتارامان بتسليط الضوء على العوامل الرئيسية التي ساهمت في الابتكار في الخدمات المالية، فقال: “تشكل الثورة التكنولوجية بالإضافة إلى المتغيرات القانونية والتنظيمية والبيئة الاقتصادية أهم العوامل التي ساهمت في إدخال الابتكار على الخدمات المالية. فالتقنيات المتقدمة مكنّت ما يسمى بـ “المهندسين الماليين” من جمع المعلومات وتقييم المخاطر وتصميم المنتجات والخدمات الجديدة التي باستطاعتها تلبية المتطلبات والاحتياجات المالية لكل من الأفراد والمؤسسات بشكل أفضل. وقد أدى ذلك إلى المساهمة في توريق العديد من فئات القروض التي لم تكن أصولاً سائلة سابقاً. ومن العوامل التي دعمت هذا الابتكار أيضًا قلة القيود التنظيمية وعدم صرامة سياسات الحماية الاقتصادية”.

كما أوضح السيد/ ر. سيتارامان بالتفصيل كيف أن الابتكار تحول إلى سبب جذري في الأزمة العالمية الراهنة، فقال: “نتيجةّ لتزايد الابتكار في مجال الخدمات المالية، ظهرت نماذج أعمال جديدة لدى البنوك غيّرت من المفاهيم الاقتصادية الجوهرية الخاصة بالخدمات المصرفية إذ أن الأدوات المالية الجديدة أدت إلى إبعاد مخاطر الائتمان عن منشئي القروض. ومع ذلك، فقد ساهم هذا التوريق في تغيير طبيعة المخاطر، فقد أدى بشكل خاص إلى تحويل مخاطر الائتمان إلى مخاطر سيولة، ثم إلى مخاطر تمويل، وفي نهاية المطاف إلى مخاطر الملاءة”.

وقد تطرق السيد/ ر. سيتارامان إلى التأثير الذي تركته تلك الأزمة على البيئة الاقتصادية، وقال: “أصبح الغموض وعدم اليقين يسيطران على الأسواق فضلاً عن المخاطر التي بالإمكان تسعيرها. ونتيجة لتلك الظروف القائمة، ظهر اتجاهان: فأولاً أصبح من الصعب تسعير المخاطر والأصول وهو ما يعني توقف التداول؛ وثانياً بدأت البنوك في حشد السيولة بدلاً من توفير الأموال في سوق ما بين البنوك. ونتيجة لذلك نشأت فجوة كبيرة بين معدلات الفوائد المطبقة ما بين البنوك من جهة، وبين المعدلات التي تطبقها المصارف المركزية في تلك الأسواق من جهة أخرى”.

وبالنسبة إلى السيناريو السائد على مستوى الاقتصاد العالمي، تحدث السيد/ ر. سيتارامان قائلاً: “رأينا هذا العام كيف فقدت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية تصنيفها الائتماني من الدرجة AAA كما شهدنا أيضاً كيف ساهم تضارب السياسات النقدية والمالية في الأزمة الأوروبية الحالية. وعلى الجانب الآخر نرى كيف تعاني الاقتصاديات الناشئة من الركود التضخمي. ولذلك فعلى الاقتصاديات المالية، ولا سيما مجموعة الدول الصناعية السبع، أن تضع ضوابط مالية للخروج من الأزمة، فالمشهد المالي العالمي الآن ينذر بتعرض الاقتصاد العالمي لمخاطر الكساد”.

وأشار السيد/ سيتارامان إلى أن الهيكل المالي العالمي يخضع للتغيير في الوقت الحالي، وسلط سيادته الضوء على الإصلاحات التنظيمية العالمية الجاري تطبيقها حاليًا، وقال في هذا الصدد: “يؤسس قانون “دود-فرانك” لإطار عمل جديد للإشراف التنظيمي والرقابي على سوق المشتقات المالية التي يتم تداولها خارج نطاق البورصات والتي تقدر قيمتها بنحو 600 تريليون دولار أمريكي. ويقضي قانون “دود-فرانك” بتقاسم كل من هيئة تنظيم المتاجرة في السلع الآجلة وهيئة الأوراق المالية والبورصات السلطة التنظيمية والإشرافية على سوق المشتقات المالية التي يتم تداولها خارج نطاق البورصات. كما أن لوائح بازل 3 الجديدة ستعمل على زيادة متطلبات السيولة وكفاية رأس المال لدى البنوك”.

كما تطرق السيد/ سيتارامان إلى توجهات إدارة الثروة في قارة آسيا، وقال: “زادت الثروة العالمية إلى 231 تريليون دولار أمريكي بحلول منتصف عام 2011 بعد أن كانت قد وصلت إلى 195 تريليون دولار أمريكي خلال عام 2010. وترجع تلك الزيادة بشكل أساسي إلى نمو الثروة في كل من جنوب أفريقيا، والهند، وأستراليا، وشيلي، وسنغافورة. ومن المحتمل أن يزيد إجمالي الثروة العالمية في عام 2016 بنسبة 50% ليصل إلى 345 تريليون دولار أمريكي، أي بزيادة بنسبة 8.4% كل عام، وذلك نتيجة للنمو القوي المتوقع في الاقتصاديات الناشئة وتضاعف إجمالي الثروة العامة في الصين. فمن المتوقع أن تحل الصين محل اليابان كثاني أغنى دولة في العالم بثروة إجمالية تقدر بنحو 39 تريليون دولار أمريكي في عام 2016 مقارنة بما قيمته 31 تريليون دولار أمريكي لليابان”.

كما ألقي السيد/ سيتارامان الضوء على الفرص المتاحة والتحديات التي تواجه إدارة الثروة في قارة آسيا، وقال: “خصص معظم الأفراد ذوي الملاءة المالية العالية في منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ النصيب الأكبر من استثماراتهم لقطاع العقارات السكنية. ومن المتوقع أن تظل دول منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ، باستثناء اليابان، محرك نمو الاقتصاد العالمي خلال عامي 2011 و2012، إلا أنه من المرجح أن يؤدي تزايد القيود على القدرات الاستيعابية إلى تباطؤ معدلات هذا النمو. فالإجراءات التي تتخذها حكومات هذه المنطقة لكبح جماح التضخم، والتحكُّم في معدلات تدفق رؤوس الأموال الأجنبية عليها، والحد من التأثيرات المحتملة في أسعار أصولها الاستثمارية، سوف تؤثر بالتأكيد في وتيرة نموها الاقتصادي. كما أن الشركات في المنطقة تواجه مجموعة من التطورات التنظيمية المحلية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن المبادرات التنظيمية العالمية تضيف مزيدًا من الشك والغموض وزيادة في التكاليف. كما باتت متطلبات وتوقعات المستثمرين غير محدودة، وصارت العديد من الشركات تكافح لزيادة إيراداتها”.

وفي كلماته الختامية، قال السيد/ سيتارامان: “هناك تزايد في المخاطر التي تهدد بكساد الاقتصاد العالمي، وعلى الاقتصاديات المالية أن تتحول إلى اقتصاديات حقيقية”.

Increased Risk of Recession in Global Economy and Financial Economies has to Convert to Real Economies

Global Economy

The Commonwealth Business forum 2011 was held in Perth, Australia between 25th-27th of October 2011 at Burswood Convention Centre. International and Arab Bankers, economists, top business professionals and key industry players participated in this event. The theme of this summit was “Partnering for Global Growth: The Common Wealth: The Indian Ocean and the Pacific Rim” and Mr. R. Seetharaman, Doha Bank Group CEO participated in the Panel discussion on “Innovation and Financial Services” on 26th June 2011.

Speaking on the Occasion Mr.Seetharaman highlighted the key factors which contributed to innovation in financial services. He said “The main factors contributing to innovation in financial services are technology revolution, legal and regulatory changes and Economic Environment. Improved technologies have allowed “financial engineers” to amass data, assess risks, and thereby design new products and services that can better meet the financial demands of individuals and enterprises. This contributed to securitisation of many categories of previously illiquid loans. Fewer restrictions and low protectionism also supported innovation”

Mr. Seetharaman highlighted in detail how innovation became the root cause of the current global crisis. He said “As a result, of financial innovation, new business models of banks emerged which changed the underlying economics of banking as new financial instruments enabled credit risk to be shifted away from the originators of loans. However, securitisation also changed the nature of risks and, in particular, transformed credit risk into liquidity risk, then into a funding risk, and ultimately into a solvency risk”

Mr. Seetharaman elaborated in detail the impact on the environment due to crisis. He said “The market environment became one of uncertainty rather than risk that could be priced. In these circumstances, two trends emerged: it became difficult to price risk and assets which meant that trading ceased, and banks began to hoard liquidity rather than make funds available in the interbank market. As a result, a substantial premium opened up between inter-bank interest rates and central bank market intervention rates”

Mr. Seetharaman highlighted the current Global economic Scenario. He said “We witnessed US losing its AAA rating this year. We also saw divergence in monetary and fiscal policy contributing to the current European crisis. The emerging economies are recently witnessing stagflation. The Financial Economies mainly the G7 countries should have a fiscal discipline to come out of crisis. There is increased risk of recession in the current global scenario”

Mr. Seetharaman stated that the new financial architecture is undergoing change. He highlighted the global regulatory reforms which are underway. He said “The Dodd-Frank Act establishes a new framework for regulatory and supervisory oversight of the over-the-counter (“OTC”) derivatives market, which is estimated at more than $600 trillion. According to Dodd-Frank Act the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (“CFTC”) and the Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”) is to share regulatory and supervisory authority for OTC derivatives. The New Basel 3 rule increases the liquidity and capital adequacy requirements of banks.”

Mr. Seetharaman also highlighted the wealth management trends in Asia. He said “Global wealth had risen to US$231 trillion by mid-2011, up from US$195 trillion in 2010. This was led by growing wealth in South Africa, India, Australia, Chile and Singapore. By 2016, total world wealth will likely rise 50% to US$345 trillion, equivalent to 8.4% growth per year, driven by strong growth in emerging markets and a near doubling of total household wealth in China. China will replace Japan as the second-wealthiest country in the world, with total household wealth of US$39 trillion in 2016, compared to US$31 trillion for Japan”

Mr. Seetharaman also highlighted the opportunities and challenges in wealth management across Asia. He said “Across the region, the majority of HNWIs allocated the biggest single share of real estate holdings to residential investments. Looking forward, Asia-Pacific excluding Japan is expected to remain the engine of global economic growth in 2011 and 2012, but increasing capacity constraints are likely to slow the rate of expansion. The actions Asia-Pacific governments take to restrain inflation, control foreign-capital inflows and deflate potential asset bubbles will certainly affect the pace of that expansion. Firms across the region are facing a range of local regulatory developments. International regulatory initiatives are adding uncertainty and cost inflation. Investors are becoming more demanding, and some firms are struggling to expand their revenues”

In his concluding remarks, Mr. Seetharaman said that “There is increased risk of recession in Global economy and financial economies have to convert to real economies”