اتفاقية التجارة الحرة بين دول الخليج وسنغافورة من شأنها تعزيز فرص الأعمال المشتركة بين الكتلتين

استضاف بنك الدوحة ندوة لتبادل المعرفة حول “النظام العالمي الجديد وفرص الأعمال” بتاريخ 11 يوليو 2014 في فندق فوليرتون بسنغافورة. وشهدت الندوة حضور العديد من المصرفيين وممثلين عن الشركات الكبيرة والمتوسطة الحجم بالإضافة إلى المجموعات الصناعية سواء التي لديها أعمال بالفعل في دول الخليج أو تلك التي تسعى إلى استكشاف فرص الأعمال في منطقة الخليج. كما أن بنك الدوحة قد حصل على جائزة “أفضل بنك محلي في مجال الخدمات المصرفية للأفراد” وجائزة “أفضل بنك محلي في مجال التمويل التجاري” لهذا العام في قطر خلال حفل توزيع جوائز مجلة “The Asian Banking and Finance” بتاريخ 10 يوليو 2014 في فندق مارينابايساندزفي سنغافورة.

وخلال حديثه في الندوة، سلط الدكتور/ ر. سيتارامان، الرئيس التنفيذي لبنك الدوحة، الضوء على أهم التطورات التي تؤثر على الاقتصاد العالمي، حيث قال: “خضع الهيكل المالي العالمي للتغيير بعد الأزمة المالية. وكانت العولمة والتكنولوجيا والنزعة الاستهلاكية واللوائح التنظيمية أهم العناصر التي تم التركيز عليها في هذا التغيير. ووفقاً لصندوق النقد الدولي، فمن المتوقع أن ينمو الاقتصاد العالمي بنسبة 3.6% في عام 2014 وبنسبة 3.9% في عام 2015. ومن أهم العوامل التي ستقود النمو في الاقتصاديات المتقدمة تخفيف التشدد المالي، باستثناء اليابان، وكذلك استمرار الدعم من خلال برامج التيسير النقدي. أما النمو في الاقتصاديات الناشئة فسيقوده الطلب القوي من الاقتصاديات المتقدمة، غير أن تشديد اللوائح المالية في تلك الاقتصاديات سيحد من نمو الطلب المحلي”.

وتطرق الدكتور/ ر. سيتارامان إلى التجارة والاستثمار العالمي وقال في هذا الصدد: “وفقاً لمنظمة التجارة العالمية، فقد حققت التجارة العالمية نموًا بنسبة 2.1% في عام 2013، وقد شهدت الصادرات الآسيوية نموًا أسرع من أي منطقة أخرى خلال العام الماضي، إذ شهدت نموًا بنسبة 4.6%. وقد تخطت تجارة البضائع العالمية في عام 2013 ما قيمته 18 تريليون دولار. ومن المتوقع أن تنمو التجارة العالمية بنسبة 4.7% في عام 2014. وبحسب مؤتمر الأمم المتحدة للتجارة والتنمية، فقد زادت تدفقات الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر على مستوى العالم بنسبة 9% في عام 2013، أي بنحو 1.45 تريليون دولار. وما تزال القارة الآسيوية تتصدر المناطق الجاذبة لتدفقات الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر”.

وتحدث الدكتور/ سيتارامان عن الاقتصاد السنغافوري قائلاً: “شهد الاقتصاد السنغافوري نموًا بنسبة 4.9% في الربع الأول من عام 2014 بالمقارنة مع نفس الفترة من العام السابق. وقد ارتفعت الأسعار الاستهلاكية في سنغافورة بنسبة 2.7% في شهر مايو 2014. وقد واصلت القروض المصرفية تراجعها في سنغافورة في مايو 2014 رغم ارتفاع القروض التجارية. وقد شهدت قروض البناء والإنشاءات نموًا بنسبة 10.3% حتى مايو 2014 بالمقارنة مع نفس الفترة من العام السابق، بينما انخفضت القروض المستخدمة في مجال التصنيع بنسبة 8.0% حتى شهر مايو 2014. وانخفضت القروض الاستهلاكية بنسبة 6.6% حتى مايو 2014”.

وقد سلط الدكتور/ ر. سيتارامان الضوء على تطورات التجارة الثنائية بين دول الخليج وسنغافورة وقال: “زادت قيمة التجارة بين دول الخليج وسنغافورة من 43.6 مليار دولار سنغافوري في 2010 إلى 68.5 مليار دولار سنغافوري في عام 2012، ثم انخفضت إلى 63.5 مليار دولار سنغافوري. وارتفعت الواردات من 8.4 مليار دولار سنغافوري في عام 2012 إلى 9.6 مليار دولار سنغافوري في عام 2013. وقد انخفضت الصادرات من 60.1 مليار دولار سنغافوري في عام 2012 إلى 53.9 مليار دولار سنغافوري في عام 2013، مما أدى إلى انخفاض قيمة التجارة بين الكتلتين. وقد انخفضت الصادرات بشكل رئيسي من المملكة العربية السعودية ودولة الكويت”.

وسلط الدكتور/ ر.سيتارامان الضوء على اتفاقية التجارة الحرة بين دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي وسنغافورة وقال في هذا الصدد: “دخلت اتفاقية التجارة الحرة حيز التنفيذ في 1 سبتمبر 2013، وسيكون حوالي 95 في المئة من جميع بنود التعريفة الجمركية في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي مؤهلة للحصول على تنازلات لإعفائها من الرسوم الجمركية، بالإضافة إلى حصول نسبة إضافية تبلغ 2.7 في المئة على نفس المزايا بحلول العام 2018. وستسمح اتفاقية التجارة الحرة للشركات السنغافورية والمواطنين السنغافوريين والمقيمين الدائمين الحصول على أغلبية الحصص في القطاعات الرئيسية لأسواق دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي”.

وتطرق الدكتور ر. سيتارامان إلى التطورات الثنائية الرئيسية بين دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي الكبرى وسنغافورة حيث قال: “تعد المملكة العربية السعودية ثالث أكبر مصدر للاستثمارات من الشرق الأوسط إلى سنغافورة. ولقد إرتفع عدد الشركات السعودية في سنغافورة خلال السنوات الماضية. وسوف يستفيد رجال الأعمال السعوديين والسنغافوريين من مجموعة من التخفيضات الضريبية الجديدة أو الإعفاءات بحسب اتفاقية تجنب الازدواج الضريبي التي دخلت حيز التنفيذ في 1 يوليو 2011. ومن الممكن أن تجذب خبرة سنغافورة في مجال تقنيات معالجة المياه واستخدامها بديلا للنفايات السائلة المعالجة الشركات الإماراتية. ويمكن أن تجذب السمعة التي تتمتع بها سنغافورة في سلامة الأغذية وجودتها شركات التصنيع الغذائي في الإمارات العربية المتحدة لتبدأ عملياتها من سنغافورة”.

وسلط الدكتور/ ر.سيتارامان الضوء على التطورات الثنائية بين قطر وسنغافورة حيث قال: “يشهد العام 2014 الذكرى الثلاثين لاقامة العلاقات الدبلوماسية بين سنغافورة وقطر. وبإمكان الشركات السنغافورية والقطرية أن تلعب دورا بارزاً في الدفع بعجلة النمو التي تشهدها دولة قطر بموجب اتفاقية التجارة الحرة. وهنالك العديد من المجالات مثل الاتصالات السلكية واللاسلكية والمعدات الكهربائية والإلكترونية، والبتروكيماويات، والمجوهرات، والآلات والصناعات ذات الصلة بالحديد والصلب والتي يمكن لرجال الأعمال القطريين والسنغافوريين تأسيسها وإقامة وتعزيز التعاون بين البلدين . وتعد سنغافورة محوراً استراتيجيا هاماً لصادرات قطر للغاز الطبيعي المسال في المنطقة.”

وفي ختام حديثه قال الدكتور/ سيتارامان: “ستعمل إتفاقية التجارة الحرة على تعضيد أواصر التعاون بين دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي وسنغافورة في السنوات القادمة.”

GCC- Singapore FTA will Further Enhance Synergistic Opportunities Between Both Blocs

Doha Bank hosted a knowledge sharing session on “New World order and opportunities” at The Fullerton Hotel, Singapore on 11th July 2014. It was well attended by bankers and representatives of corporates from large and medium scale industrial groups ,doing business in GCC and interested to explore business in GCC also participated in the event. Doha Bank was also named the ‘Best Domestic Retail Bank’ and the ‘Best Domestic Trade finance Bank’ of the year in Qatar at The Asian Banking and Finance Awards Ceremony held on 10th July 2014 in Marina Bay Sands, Singapore.

Speaking at the knowledge sharing session Dr. R. Seetharaman highlighted the key developments impacting global economy. He said “The Global financial architecture has underwent a change after the crisis. Globalisation, technology, consumerism and Regulation are the key forces which drive the change in Global economy. According to IMF April 2014, the world economy is expected to grow at 3.6% in 2014 and 3.9% in 2015. Key drivers in advanced economies are a reduction in fiscal tightening, except in Japan, and still highly accommodative monetary conditions. Emerging economies growth will be helped by stronger external demand from advanced economies, but tighter financial conditions will dampen domestic demand growth.”

Dr. R. Seetharaman gave insights on Global trade and Investment. He said “According to WTO Global trade increased by 2.1% in 2013 and Asia’s exports grew faster than any other region’s last year, with a 4.6% rise. The value of Global merchandise trade in 2013 exceeded $18 trillion. World trade is expected to grow by a modest 4.7% in 2014. According to UNCTAD report Global foreign direct investment (FDI) inflows rose by 9% in 2013, to an estimated US$1.45 trillion. Developing Asia continues to be the region with the highest FDI inflows.”

Dr.R.Seetharaman gave his outlook on Singapore economy. He said “Singapore’s economy expanded 4.9% in the first quarter of 2014 over the same period last year. Singapore’s consumer prices rose by 2.7% yoy in May 2014.Bank loans in Singapore continued to ease in May 2014, despite a boost from business loans. Building and construction loans accelerated to 10.3% yoy till May 2014 but manufacturing loans headed the other direction and contracted by 8.0% yoy till May2014. Consumer loans eased to 6.6% yoy till May 2014.”

Dr. R. Seetharaman highlighted the bilateral trade developments between GCC and Singapore. He said “ GCC – Singapore trade has surged from S$43.6 billion in 2010 to S$ 68.5 billion in 2012 and dropped to S$ 63.5 Billion Imports had arose from S$8.4Bn in 2012 to S$9.6 Bn in 2013. Exports had fallen from S$60.1 billion in 2012 to S$53.9 billion in 2013 contributing to the fall in overall trade. Exports had fallen mainly from Saudi Arabia and Kuwait. “

Dr. R. Seetharaman gave insight on GCC- Singapore Free Trade Agreement (GSFTA).He said “The GSFTA has come into force on 1 September 2013 and approximately 95 percent of all GCC tariff lines will qualify for tariff-free concessions. An additional 2.7 percent of tariff lines will qualify for the same tariff-free concessions by 2018.The GSFTA allows Singapore-based companies, Singapore nationals and permanent residents to hold majority stakes in key sectors of the GCC markets “

Dr. R. Seetharaman gave insights on major bilateral developments between GCC and Singapore. He said “Saudi Arabia is the third largest source of investments from the Middle East to Singapore. The number of Saudi companies that have a presence in Singapore has been growing steadily over the years. Singapore and Saudi Arabian businesses will enjoy a range of new tax reductions or exemptions under the new Avoidance of Double Taxation Agreement which came into effect in 1st July 2011.Singapore’s expertise in water treatment technologies and alternative utilisation of treated effluents can attract UAE companies in Singapore. Singapore’s reputation for food safety and quality can attract UAE food manufacturing and procurement companies to base their operations in Singapore. “

Dr. R. Seetharaman highlighted the bilateral developments between Qatar and Singapore. He said “The year 2014 is the 30th anniversary of diplomatic relations between Singapore and Qatar. Singaporean and Qatari companies will now be able to play an increasing role in the Qatar’s development on account of GSFTA.There are areas such as telecommunications, electrical and electronic equipment, petrochemicals, jewellery, machinery and iron and steel-related industries in which Qatari and Singaporean businesses can establish and enhance cooperation to facilitate bilateral trade relations. Singapore has emerged as a strategically important hub for Qatar’s LNG exports to the region.”

In his concluding remarks Dr. R. Seetharaman said “The GSFTA will further enhance synergistic opportunities between GCC and Singapore in the coming years.”