تغير الديناميكيات لدى دول الخليج يدعو إلى التحول نحو “المهمة الخضراء”

Press Release

تغير الديناميكيات لدى دول الخليج يدعو إلى التحول نحو “المهمة الخضراء”

شارك الدكتور/ ر. سيتارامان، الرئيس التنفيذي لبنك الدوحة، في جلسة نقاشية أقيمت ضمن فعاليات “منتدى الطاقة العالمي” الذي عُقد مؤخرًا في دبي في الفترة من 22 إلى 24 أكتوبر 2012. وجاءت كلمة الدكتور سيتارامان، المعروف باهتمامه الكبير بالبيئة وقضاياها، حول “الديناميكيات المتغيرة لدى دول الخليج والتحول نحو المهمة الخضراء”.

وسلط الدكتور سيتارامان في كلمته الضوء على ضرورة مساهمة قطاع النفط والغاز في معالجة قضية التغير المناخي، وقال في هذا السياق: “رغم أن 30% من كافة انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة و60% من الانبعاثات المرتبطة بالوقود الحفري هي ناتجة عن استخدام النفط والغاز، بالإضافة إلى أن 5% من الانبعاثات تأتي نتيجة عمليات التنقيب عن الوقود، وإنتاجه، ومعالجته/تكريره، ونقله، إلا أن 10% فقط من الشركات العاملة في القطاعات الصناعية، كقطاع النفط والغاز، تتبنى منهجية جيدة ومتطورة للتعامل مع مخاطر التغير المناخي. هذا وفي حين تعكف كل من المملكة المتحدة والاتحاد الأوروبي والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية الآن على فرض متطلبات إلزامية تتعلق بالمتاجرة في انبعاثات الكربون/انبعاثات الدفيئة، اقترح العديد من دول الخليج أن يتم استخدام الطاقة النظيفة من مصادر الطاقة المتجددة بنسبة لا تقل عن 5% بحلول عام 2020. وفي هذا الإطار، فهناك مشاريع بقدرة إجمالية تزيد عن 9000 ميجاوات جاري الآن إما إنشاؤها أو التخطيط لها – باستخدام الطاقة الشمسية وطاقة الرياح”.

World Energy Forum

وشدد الدكتور سيتارامان على أهمية تبني دول الخليج لسياسات عامة تتعلق إما بتوسيع أو تحجيم عمليات تطوير الطاقة المتجددة على مدار العقود القادمة، وقال في هذا الصدد: “يمكن الوفاء بحوالي 80% من إمدادات الطاقة العالمية من خلال مصادر الطاقة المتجددة بحلول منتصف هذا القرن إذا تم تدعيم ذلك التوجه بسياسات عامة مناسبة”.

وقام الدكتور سيتارامان بعرض مقارنة لمساهمة كل مصدر من المصادر الرئيسية للطاقة المتجددة، وشرح قائلاً: “تمثل الطاقة الحيوية، المستخدمة بشكل رئيسي في مجالات الطهو والتدفئة في الدول النامية، في الوقت الحالي ما نسبته 10% من إمدادات الطاقة العالمية، فيما تساهم الطاقة الشمسية المباشرة بما نسبته 1% فقط، وتمثل الطاقة الحرارية الأرضية (القائمة على استخراج السخونة من باطن الأرض) ما يقل عن 1%، فيما تساهم الطاقة الكهرومائية بما نسبته 16%، وطاقة الرياح بحوالي 2% من إجمالي إمدادات الطاقة العالمية”.

وتطرق الدكتور سيتارامان بعد ذلك إلى الحديث عن مدى تأثير التغير المناخي في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، وقال: “سيؤدى ارتفاع منسوب المياه إلى التأثير على السواحل والحياة البحرية بصورة حادة وربما يؤثر ذلك أيضًا على كفاءة معامل تحلية المياه التي تعد المصدر الوحيد للمياه في منطقة الخليج. وعلى الجانب الآخر، فإن ارتفاع درجات الحرارة سيؤدي إلى زيادة الحاجة إلى المياه، مما سيؤدي في نهاية المطاف إلى حدوث نقص في المياه، وخاصة مع تراجع مستويات المياه العذبة وزيادة مستويات الملوحة في مياه البحار”.

وفيما يتعلق بأهم التطورات في قطاع الطاقة الكهرومائية في منطقة الخليج، قال الدكتور سيتارامان: “تحتاج دول الخليج إلى استثمار ما يقرب من 100 مليار دولار أمريكي في مجال تطوير البنية التحتية واستكشاف طرق جديدة لضمان استمرارية إمدادات مياه الشرب لمواطنيها خلال السنوات الخمس القادمة. وبالنظر إلى حقيقة أن المنطقة لا تمتلك مصادر طبيعية للمياه العذبة، فسيكون على دول الخليج تحمل تكاليف باهظة في مجال تحلية المياه. هذا بالإضافة إلى تضاعف استهلاك الطاقة الكهربائية على مستوى العالم منذ عام 1980. ووفقاً للمعدلات الحالية، فمن المؤكد تمامًا أن استهلاك الطاقة الكهربائية سيتضاعف بحلول عام 2030 بالمقارنة بالمستويات الحالية. كما يمكن أن يتزايد استهلاك الطاقة الكهربائية بمعدلات أكبر في دول مثل قطر”.

هذا وعملت ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري واحتمالات نضب مصادر الطاقة التقليدية مثل النفط والغاز على دفع دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي إلى البحث عن مصادر بديلة للطاقة. وفي هذا السياق، شدد الدكتور ر. سيتارامان أهمية استخدام الطاقة الشمسية وطاقة الرياح كمصادر بديلة عن الطاقة التقليدية في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي وقال: “تمتلك دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي الإمكانيات الكفيلة بتوليد الطاقة من الشمس ومن الرياح بحيث يستفاد منها في توليد الكهرباء التي من الممكن أن تفي بكافة احتياجاتها دون الحاجة إلى استخدام واستغلال ثرواتها من النفط والغاز. وإذا ما خصصت دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي 0.5% من مساحتها التي تصل إلى 2.5 مليون كيلو متر مربع لتوليد الطاقة من الشمس وإذا ما افترضنا أن معدل تحويل الطاقة يبلغ 20%، فبإمكان دول الخليج توليد الطاقة الكفيلة بتلبية احتياجاتها السنوية من الطاقة. أما فيما يتعلق بطاقة الرياح، فإن متوسط قوة الرياح في الخليج يصل إلى سبعة أمتار لكل ثانية بارتفاع 80 متر. وتعتبر هذه السرعة مناسبة لتشغيل طواحين الهواء بصورة اقتصادية. ونتيجة لذلك وفي ظل وجود طاحونة هواء قطرها 10 أمتار ونسبة فعالية تصل إلى 35%، فمن الممكن أن تنتج المنطقة حوالي 24 كيلو وات من الكهرباء”.

أما بالنسبة إلى تطورات قطاع الطاقة المتجددة في دولة قطر على وجه التحديد، قال الدكتور ر. سيتارامان: “لقد اقترحت دولة قطر البلد المستضيف لبطولة كأس العالم 2022، تطوير وتطبيق تقنية السحب الاصطناعية بحيث تعمل على تبريد الملاعب التي ستقام عليها منافسات كرة القدم خلال فصل الصيف في قطر وهو الفصل المعروف بشدة حرارته. وتعمل جامعة قطر بالشراكة مع واحة قطر للعلوم والتكنولوجيا على تنفيذ هذا المشروع. ومن المتوقع بحلول العام 2017 الانتهاء من تطوير إستاد خليفة الذي سيتم تحديثه بحيث يصبح ملعباً محايد للكربون وتستخدم فيه الطاقة الشمسية بالكامل في توليد الطاقة الكهربائية والتحكم في أجواء الملعب. ويعد هذا المشروع من المشاريع الفريدة وهو من ضمن العديد من مشاريع البنية التحتية التي يتم إعدادها لاستضافة بطولة كأس العالم 2022. هذا وتعمل شركة الخليج الأخضر، التي تتخذ من قطر مقرًا لها، على تركيب ألواح توليد الطاقة الشمسية في أربعة مدارس على الأقل في البلاد في مبادرة تحمل شعار “المدارس الشمسية”. كما قامت شركة شيفرون بإنشاء مركز للطاقة المستدامة الفعالة في واحة قطر للعلوم والتكنولوجيا في إطار بحوثها في مجال الطاقة الحديثة والتقنيات الشمسية. وفي شهر أبريل 2011، وقعت كل من وزارة الطاقة الأمريكية وواحة قطر للعلوم والتكنولوجيا مذكرة تفاهم تهدف إلى تعزيز التعاون في مجال تطوير وتطبيق تقنيات مستدامة ونظيفة ومناسبة التكلفة في مجال الطاقة. وفي شهر مايو 2012، وقعت شركة قطر لتقنيات الطاقة الشمسية مذكرة تفاهم مع شركة الكهرباء والماء القطرية لبحث إمكانيات توليد الكهرباء باستخدام الطاقة الشمسية في قطر”.

هذا وناقشت الجلسة بعد ذلك التحديات التي تواجه تمويل مشاريع الطاقة من حيث إيجاد والوصول إلى مصادر كافية لتمويل المشاريع الباهظة؛ وهيكلة التمويل الذي يعوّض المستثمرين بصورة مناسبة عن المخاطر التي تعكس منحنى الطلب للسلعة، والعملة المحلية، والمخاطر الخاصة بمطوري المشاريع مع تأمين تحقيق أرباح للمستثمرين؛ وتخصيص حوافز المخاطر/الأرباح بتعقل بحيث تحتفظ أي أسهم أو سندات قابلة للتداول بقيمة كبيرة في السوق الثانوية.

هذا وقد تحدث خلال الجلسة أيضًا كل من السيد/ راي وود، العضو المنتدب ورئيس قسم الطاقة ومصادر الطاقة المتجددة لدى شركة ميريل لينش – بنك أوف أميريكا، والسيد/ جوناثان روبنسون، العضو المنتدب ورئيس قسم تمويل المشاريع لدى بنك إتش إس بي سي، والسيد/ جمال صاغر، رئيس قسم التنمية المستدامة لدى البند الدولي – فرع أفريقيا.

Changing Dynamics of the Gulf States towards Green Mission

Press Release

Changing Dynamics of the Gulf States towards Green Mission

Dr. R.Seetharaman, Doha Bank Group CEO participated in a panel discussion at the recently concluded World Energy Forum, held in Dubai from October 22-24, 2012. An avid environmentalist, Dr. Seetharaman addressed the forum on the concluding day, focusing on the Changing Dynamics of the Gulf States towards Green Mission.

Dr. Seetharaman highlighted the need for contribution from oil and gas industry to climate change. He said: “Considering that 30% of all Green House Gas (GHG) emissions and 60% of fossil fuel-related emissions are from the use of oil and gas, with a further 5% added due to the exploration, production, processing/refining and transportation of these fuels, only 10% of companies in high impact sectors such as oil & gas have adopted a good or advanced response to climate change risk. While the UK, European Union and the US have now developing mandatory requirements to be complied with, in relation to carbon trading/green house emissions, many GCC member countries have proposed a minimum target of 5% energy procurement from renewable energy sources by 2020. In line with this, projects are now underway with more than 9000 MW either under construction or in planning stages – dominated by solar and wind energy.”

World Energy Forum

Dr. Seetharaman stressed the importance of public policies within the GCC to expand or constrain renewable energy development over the coming decades. He said: “Close to 80 % of the world’s energy supply could be met by renewable sources by mid-century if backed by the right enabling public policies.”

Comparing the contribution of the major sources of renewable energy, Dr. Seetharaman said “Bioenergy, mainly used for traditional cooking and heating in developing countries, currently represents over 10 % of global energy supply. Direct solar energy, contributes only a fraction of one % , Geothermal energy (based on heat extraction from the Earth‘s interior) represents less than 1 %, hydropower contributed 16% and wind energy met close to 2% of total global energy supply.”

Focusing on the climate change impact in the GCC, Dr. Seetharaman said: “The rising sea levels will affect coastlines and marine life severely and could impact the efficiency of desalination plants that are the only source of water in the GCC region. Secondly, rising temperatures translates into increasing water demand and, with falling freshwater levels and increasing salinity in sea water, water scarcity is a fearsome prospect.”

Talking about the significant developments in GCC’s hydro power sector, Dr. Seetharaman said: “GCC states would invest close to $100bn for infrastructure development and explore new ways to ensure uninterrupted supply of drinking water to its residents in the next five years. Considering that the region does not have natural sources of fresh water supply, the member states have to bear huge costs in the desalination of water. Also, electricity consumption has doubled globally since 1980 and at the prevailing rate, there is every reason to believe the consumption would double from the present levels by 2030. Electricity consumption could grow at even higher rates in countries such as Qatar.”

Global warming and the expected depletion of conventional energy sources such as oil and gas are pushing GCC countries to pursue alternate energy sources. Emphasizing the possibilities of solar and wind energy as potential sources of renewable energy in the GCC, Dr. Seetharaman said: “GCC countries have enough solar and wind potential to generate electricity that could meet all their needs without using the oil and gas wealth. If the GCC countries allocate 0.5 % of their 2.5 million sq km area for the generation of electricity from solar energy and assuming their equipment have a conversion rate of 20 per cent, they can generate enough energy for the year. Further, as for wind energy, the average wind velocity in the Gulf is around seven meters per second at 80 meters high. This speed is very suitable to operate windmills economically. As a result, a windmill with a 10-metre diameter and 35 per cent efficiency rate can produce around 24 kw of electricity in the region.”

Mentioning the significant developments in Qatar’s renewable energy, Dr. Seetharaman also highlighted the developments in Qatar towards renewable energy: “Qatar – the host nation of the 2022 FIFA World Cup – has proposed to develop and implement artificial cloud technology as a way of cooling off stadiums from the desert country’s scorching summer. This project is being supported by a collaboration between Qatar University and Qatar’s Science and Technology Park (QSTP). It is expected that by 2017, the revamped Khalifa Stadium will be carbon-neutral, powered and climate controlled entirely by solar energy, serving as a precedent for Qatar’s 2022 World Cup event infrastructure. Qatar-based Green Gulf is also working on installing solar panels in at least four schools in the country in an initiative labelled as ‘Solar Schools’. Chevron has launched the Centre for Sustainable Energy Efficiency (CSEE) at Qatar Science & Technology Park as a part of research on latest energy efficiency and solar technologies. In April 2011, the U.S Department of Energy (DOE) and the Qatar Science & Technology Park (QSTP) have signed a MOU for clean energy technologies. Solar parking project will be established at the upcoming Solar Test Facility, a Chevron Qatar-Green Gulf initiative at Qatar Science & Technology Park. Solar parking is a simple and cost-effective way of utilising solar energy. In May 2012, Qatar Solar Technologies (QSTec) has signed an agreement with the Qatar Electricity & Water Company (QEWC) to explore the possibilities of developing power generation using solar energy in Qatar.”

The panel further discussed the challenge of financing energy projects due to identifying and accessing sufficient funding for costly projects; structuring funding that repays investors sufficiently for risk that reflects the demand curve for the commodity, the local currency, and developer-specific risk while allowing profit potential for the sponsor; and allocating risk / reward incentives intelligently so that any tradable equity or bonds maintain fundamental value in the secondary market.

Also speaking on the panel were Mr. Ray Wood, Managing Director and Head of Power and Renewables at Bank of America Merrill Lynch; Mr. Jonathan Robinson, Managing Director and Head of Project Finance at HSBC Global Banking; and Mr. Jamal Saghir, Director of Sustainable Development, African Region, World Bank.