التفاؤل الحذر سيسود عام 2020

Vision 2020

التفاؤل الحذر سيسود عام 2020

عقد بنك الدوحة يوم الأحد 15 ديسمبر 2019 في فندق دبليو الدوحة جلسة لتبادل المعرفة تم خلالها تقديم رؤية واضحة عما سيؤول إليه الحال في عام 2020. قدّم الجلسة السيد/ مايكل كاهيل وهو استراتيجي رئيسي لدى مؤسسة غولدمان ساكس. وقد حضر جلسة تبادل المعرفة ممثلي عن عدد من المؤسسات الرائدة في قطر.

وبهذه المناسبة، تحدّث الدكتور ر. سيتارامان الرئيس التنفيذي لبنك الدوحة عن الاقتصاد العالمي بالقول: “وفقاً إلى توقعات صندوق النقد الدولي الصادرة في أكتوبر 2019، سيسجّل الاقتصاد العالمي نسبة نمو تبلغ 3% في 2019 و3.4% في عام 2020، وستبلغ نسبة النمو للاقتصاديات المتقدّمة 1.7% في 2019 و1.7% في 2020، بينما ستبلغ نسبة النمو لمجموعة الأسواق الصاعدة والاقتصاديات النامية 3.9% في 2019 و4.6% في 2020.”

كما تطرّق الدكتور/ ر. سيتارامان بحديثه عن الاقتصاد القطري قائلاً: “وفقاً إلى توقعات صندوق النقد الدولي الصادرة في أكتوبر 2019 ستبلغ نسبة نمو الاقتصاد القطري 2% في عام 2019 و2.8% في عام 2020 وسيُسجّل الرصيد الجاري نسبة قدرها 6% في عام 2019 و4.1% في عام 2020. وفي عام 2019 عادت دولة قطر إلى الأسواق المالية العالمية بنجاح بإصدار على ثلاثة شرائح إجماليه 12 مليار دولار أمريكي. وتتوقع قطر زيادة إنتاجها إلى 126 مليون طن سنوياً بحلول عام 2027 في ظل شروعها بالعمل الهندسي على اثنين من المحطات الضخمة لتسييل وتنقية الغاز وهو ما يُصعّد خطة التوسعة الطموحة في سوق محتدم المنافسة. من جانب آخر، ما يزال أداء القطاع المصرفي في قطر سليماً بعدما تم الاستعاضة بصورة جزئية عن المطلوبات الأجنبية المسحوبة عقب الأزمة الدبلوماسية وإيلاء الاهتمام لتنويع مصادر التمويل وهيكل استحقاق الودائع. ولا بد من الإشارة إلى أن قانون الاستثمار القطري لعام 2019 يفتح الباب أمام المستثمرين الأجانب لتملّك ما نسبته 100% في جميع القطاعات كما يدعم دخول المستثمرين إلى السوق القطرية. كما يقدم قانون الاستثمار العديد من الحوافز الاستثمارية بما في ذلك تخصيص أراضي للمستثمرين غير القطريين لإقامة المشروع الاستثماري بطريقة الانتفاع أو الإيجار وفقاً للقوانين والتشريعات المعمول بها. ووافق مجلس الوزراء في مارس 2019 على مشروع قرار بتحديد المناطق والأماكن التي يُسمح بتملك غير القطريين للعقارات فيها والانتفاع بها. بينما وافق مجلس الوزراء في أبريل 2019 على مشروع قانون بتنظيم الشراكة بين القطاعين الخاص والعام. ويذكر أن الاكتتاب في أسهم شركة بلدنا حقق فائضاً يتجاوز المبلغ المحدّد”.

كما تحدث الدكتور مايكل كاهيل عن توقعاته بشأن النمو العالمي في عام 2020 قائلاً: “يُعتبر تحفيز الأوضاع المالية، وانحسار الضبابية التي تسود الجانب التجاري، وتعديل حجم المخزون في قطاع التصنيع، وحصول تطورات خاصة بدول بعينها مثل المملكة المتحدة أو روسيا، من أهم عوامل تحسن النمو في عام 2020. ومن المتوقع أن تستمر الضبابية في اكتناف المشهد السياسي في عام 2020. وسيساعد تحفيز الأوضاع المالية الاقتصاد الأمريكي أكثر الاقتصادات المتقدمة الأخرى. ويشهد الاقتصاد الصيني تعافياً لكن ليس بشكل متسارع. ومن الممكن أن تؤثر حالة الضبابية التي تسود الموقف السياسي على التجارة والاستثمار. بينما لا تزال سياسات التحفيز المالي المتخذة لتنشيط الاقتصاد الصيني من حالة الركود غير مفعلة. ولا يزال قطاع العقارات في الولايات المتحدة حساساً لأسعار الفائدة وهناك حاجة لسوق عمل قوي لتحقيق نمو اقتصادي أسرع. ومن الممكن أن تستفيد المملكة المتحدة من انحسار حالة الضبابية المرتبطة بخروج بريطانيا من الاتحاد الأوروبي. كما سيساهم انتعاش الاقتصاد الأمريكي عام 2020 في تحسين سعر صرف الدولار الأمريكي. أما بشأن قطاع السلع، فمن المتوقع أن يكون هناك مزيد من الاستثمارات التي ستتم كجزء من إجراءات تخفيض الديون. ومن المحتمل أن يقوم بنك الاحتياطي الفدرالي الأمريكي بزيادة أسعار الفائدة في حال حدوث ارتفاع مفاجئ في التضخم”.

واختتم الدكتور/ ر. سيتارامان حديثه قائلاً: تشير التوقعات إلى أن التفاؤل الحذر سيسود عام 2020 ”

Cautious Optimism Expected to Prevail in 2020

Vision 2020

Cautious Optimism Expected to Prevail in 2020

Doha Bank hosted a knowledge sharing session” providing a 20:20 vision for 2020” at W Hotel, Doha Qatar on 15th December 2019. The presenter at the session was Mr. Michael Cahill, Senior strategist from Goldman Sachs The event was well attended by leading corporates in Qatar.

Dr. R. Seetharaman, CEO of Doha Bank set the tone for the event by giving insight on global economy. He said “According to IMF Oct 2019, Global growth is forecast at 3.0 percent in 2019, picking up to 3.4 percent in 2020 respectively. For advanced economies, growth is projected at 1.7 percent in 2019 and 1.7 percent in 2020. The emerging market and developing economy group is expected to grow at 3.9 percent in 2019, rising to 4.6 percent in 2020.”

Dr. R. Seetharaman highlighted on Qatar economy. He said “According to IMF Oct 2019, Qatar economy expected to grow by 2 percent in 2019 and 2.8 percent in 2020 with a current account balance of 6 percent in 2019 and 4.1 percent in 2020 respectively. In 2019 the State of Qatar has achieved a successful return to the international financial markets with a total of three tranches worth a total of $12bn. Qatar expects capacity to rise to 126 million mt/year by 2027 as it starts engineering work on two “mega trains” Qatar’s banking sector remains sound. Foreign liabilities withdrawn in the immediate aftermath of the diplomatic rift have been partially replaced with greater attention being paid to the diversity of funding sources and deposit maturity structure. The Qatar Investment law of 2019 opens the way for foreign investors to own 100 percent ownership in all sectors, as well as support for investors’ entry into the Qatari market. The law offers many investment incentives including allocation of land to non-Qatari investors to establish investment through the use or rent in accordance with the applicable rules and regulations. In March 2019 the Cabinet, approved a draft resolution of the Council of Ministers determining the areas and places in which non-Qataris are allowed to own and use real estate. In April 2019 Cabinet has approved draft law on public-private sector partnership. Qatar’s Baladna IPO oversubscribed.”

Mr. Michael Cahill gave insight on global growth in 2020. The easing financial conditions, diminishing trade uncertainty, inventory correction in manufacturing sector and country specific developments such as in UK or Russia are the key factors to improve growth in 2020. However political uncertainty still prevails in 2020. Easing financial conditions help US economy better than other developed economies. Chinese economy is bouncing back but not yet seen the acceleration. Political uncertainty can impact trade and investment. Chinese stimulus is lot more restrained. In US the housing sector is more sensitive to interest rates. Strong labour market is required for US economic growth. UK can benefit from reduction in uncertainty of Brexit risks .A better growth in 2020 from US economy can contribute to strong dollar. On the commodities segment too much of investment which will come off as part of the deleveraging cycle. Fed rate hike may be possible only if the inflation starts increasing.”

In his concluding remarks, Dr. R. Seetharaman said “Cautious optimism expected to prevail in 2020.”