آفاق الفرص الثنائية بين قطر وجنوب أفريقيا

استضاف بنك الدوحة يوم الأثنين 19 نوفمبر 2018 جلسة لتبادل المعرفة في مقّره الرئيسي حضرها وفدٌ من جنوب أفريقيا تقدّمه سعادة السيد/ فيصل موسى سفير جنوب أفريقيا في الدوحة يرافقه عددٌ من مسؤولي المؤسسات المعروفة في جنوب أفريقيا.

وفي مستهل كلمته التي ألقاها بهذه المناسبة، تحدث الدكتور ر. سيتارامان الرئيس التنفيذي لبنك الدوحة عن مستجدات الاقتصاد العالمي قائلاً: “وفقاً إلى التوقعات الاقتصادية الصادرة عن صندوق النقد الدولي في أكتوبر 2018، سيبلغ معدل النمو العالمي لعامي 2018 و2019 نحو 3.7٪، وسيبقى نمو الاقتصاديات المتقدمة مرتفعاً عند 2.4٪ في عام 2018 قبل أن يتراجع إلى 2.2٪ في عام 2019، وستواصل مجموعة الأسواق الصاعدة والاقتصاديات النامية نموها بنسبة 4.7% في عام 2018 و2019. من جهة أخرى، تتمثل التحديات الرئيسية أمام الاقتصاد العالمي في تزايد العقبات التجارية وعودة رؤوس الأموال إلى اقتصاديات الأسواق الصاعدة وتراجع المؤشرات الاقتصادية الأساسية وارتفاع المخاطر السياسية.”

كما تطرّق الدكتور ر. سيتارامان إلى اقتصاد جنوب أفريقيا فقال: “بحسب توقعات صندوق النقد الدولي لشهر أكتوبر 2018، سينمو اقتصاد جنوب أفريقيا بنسبة 1.4% في عام 2019، وبنفس العام أيضاً سيبلغ عجز حسابها الجاري 3.5% من إجمالي ناتجها المحلي. من جهة أخرى، يعتبر النظام النقدي لجنوب أفريقيا على مستوى عالٍ من التنظيم حيث أصبحت البلاد إحدى أكثر الوجهات المرغوبة في العالم على صعيد التجارة والاستثمار.”

وفي معرض حديثه عن العلاقات الثنائية بين قطر وجنوب أفريقيا، قال الدكتور ر. سيتارامان: “بلغ إجمالي حجم التبادل التجاري بين قطر وجنوب أفريقيا حوالي 0.5 مليار دولار أمريكي إذ تسعى جنوب أفريقيا إلى مضاعفة هذا الحجم مع قطر خلال الأعوام القليلة القادمة. تشمل أبرز صادرات جنوب أفريقيا إلى قطر، المعادن الأساسية، والآلات، والأجهزة الميكانيكية، والمواد الكيماوية، والخضار. بينما تشمل أبرز واردات جنوب أفريقيا من قطر على المنتجات المعدنية والمواد الكيماوية والبلاستيكية. وبالإمكان أن تستكشف الشركات الجنوب أفريقية العاملة في قطاعات الإنشاء والتوريدات والأمن واللوجستيات والأغذية الفرص السانحة أمامها في قطر. وبإمكان جنوب أفريقيا دعم جهود قطر نحو تحقيق الاكتفاء الذاتي وتوسيع القاعدة الصناعية والتصنيعية للبلاد. ويُشكل تقدّم جنوب أفريقيا في قطاع الزراعة فرصة سانحة يُمكن أن تستفيد منها قطر. وقد سجّل قطاع السياحة في جنوب أفريقيا ارتفاعاً ملحوظاً مع العلم بأن العديد من المواطنين القطريين يقضون عطلتهم هناك، بينما تجاوز إجمالي عدد المقيمين في قطر من جنوب أفريقيا 6,000 شخص.”

أما بشأن الاقتصاد القطري، قال الدكتور ر. سيتارامان: “من المتوقع أن ينمو الاقتصاد القطري بنسبة 2.7٪ في 2018 و2.8 ٪ في 2019 على التوالي. وتخطط قطر لزيادة طاقتها الإنتاجية من الغاز الطبيعي المسال من 77 مليون طن في السنة إلى 110 مليون طن سنويًا. وتجاوزت احتياطيات قطر المالية أكثر من ضعفي ناتجها الإجمالي المحلي. أما بشأن الاستقرار المالي، فتنعم قطر بالأمن والاستقرار. وردا على الحصار الاقتصادي، فقد خرجت قطر من هذا الحصار أكثر قوة وأدخلت العديد من الإصلاحات لبناء اقتصاد وطني يعتمد على الذات. هذا وتفترض ميزانية قطر لعام 2018 نفس سعر النفط التحفظي البالغ 45 دولاراً للبرميل المستخدم في ميزانيتها لعام 2017. وترتكز رؤية قطر الوطنية لعام 2030على أربع ركائز أولها التنمية البشرية وثانيها التنمية الاجتماعية أما الركيزة الثالثة فهي التنمية الاقتصادية والركيزة الرابعة هي التنمية البيئية. ومؤخراً قامت وكالة موديز إنفستور سيرفيس بتعديل تصنيف الجدارة الائتمانية لقطر على المدى الطويل من سلبي إلى مستقر مُثبتتاً التصنيف الائتماني للديون الرئيسية غير المضمونة بالعملة الأجنبية والجدارة الائتمانية للبلاد عند الدرجة .Aa3 ووفقاً إلى تقييم الوكالة بإمكان قطر الصمود بوجه المقاطعة الاقتصادية والمالية والدبلوماسية المفروضة عليها من قبل المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة والبحرين ومصر سواءً كانت بشكلها الحالي أو في حال تشديد الحصار ولفترة طويلة من الوقت دون أن يُضعف ذلك من السجل الائتماني للبلاد بشكل ملموس.”

Bilateral Opportunities between Qatar and South Africa Showcased

South Africa

Doha Bank hosted a knowledge sharing event at DB HO Tower on 19th November to the South African Delegation. The Ambassador of South Africa to Qatar, H.E Mr. Faizel Moosa along with other key people from well-known institutions in South Africa attended this event.

Dr.R. Seetharaman, CEO of Doha Bank spoke on Global Economy he said “According to IMF Oct 2018 outlook, Global growth is projected at 3.7 percent for 2018 and 2019 respectively. Growth in advanced economies will remain well above trend at 2.4 percent in 2018, before softening to 2.1 percent in 2019. Growth in the emerging market and developing economy group is set to remain steady at 4.7 percent in 2018 and 2019 respectively. The key challenges to Global Economy include rising trade barriers & a reversal of capital flows to emerging market economies with weaker fundamentals and higher political risk.”

Dr. R. Seetharaman highlighted on South African economy. He said “According to IMF Oct 2018 outlook, South African economy expected to grow by 1.4% in 2019. The current account deficit as a % of GDP is expected to 3.5% in 2019. South Africa monetary system is well regulated. South Africa has become one of the most popular trade and investment destinations in the world.”

Dr. R. Seetharaman gave insight on Qatar – South Africa bilateral relationships. He said “Qatar South Africa total trade is close to $0.5bn. South Africa, is looking to double its bilateral trade with Qatar in the next few years. The major exports to Qatar are Base Metals, Machinery and Mechanical appliances, Chemicals and Vegetable products. The main imports from Qatar by South Africa are Mineral products, Chemicals and Plastics. Construction and supplies, security and logistics to food service sectors can look for opportunities in Qatar. South Africa can support Qatar’s efforts to ensure self-sufficiency and to expand Qatar’s industrial and manufacturing base. South African prowess in the agricultural sector is well known and could be utilized for benefit of Qatar. South Africa’s tourism sector registered a dramatic rise as many Qataris spent their holidays there. The total number of South African expats in Qatar crossed the 6,000 mark.”

On Qatar economy, Dr. R. Seetharaman said “Qatar expected to grow by 2.7% in 2018 and 2.8% in 2019 respectively. Qatar is planning to increase its LNG production capacity from 77Million tonnes per Annum (MTPA) to 110 MTPA. Qatar’s reserves are more than twice of its GDP and in terms of financial stability Qatar is strong, stable and functional. In response to the economic blockade Qatar has emerged strong and has brought various reforms to transform itself into a self-reliant economy. The 2018 budget assumes the same conservative oil price of $45/barrel as used for the 2017 budget. Qatar National Vision focuses on four pillars 1) Human Development 2) Social Development 3) Economic Development and 4) Environmental Development. In recent times Qatar’s long-term issuer ratings have been changed from negative to stable by Moody’s Investors Service, which affirmed the long-term issuer and foreign-currency senior unsecured debt ratings at Aa3. According to Moody’s assessment, Qatar can withstand the economic, financial, and diplomatic boycott by Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Bahrain, and Egypt in its current form, or with possible further restrictions, for an extended period of time without a material deterioration of the sovereign’s credit profile.”