تعزيز دور البنوك في مكافحة الجرائم المالية للحماية من مخاطر السمعة

US- MENA Private Sector Dialogue

يعقد اتحاد المصارف العربية قمة الحوار المصرفي العربي – الأميركي بالتعاون مع جهات دولية في يومي 14 و15 أكتوبر الحالي في نيويورك حول موضوع: “البنــوك المراســـلة” وذلك في مقر بنك أوف نيويورك ميلون. وتضم قائمة المتحدثين كل من السيد/ توماس سي باكستر، نائب الرئيس التنفيذي والمستشار العام في بنك الاحتياطي الاتحادي في نيويورك، والسيد/ ألبرتو موسالم بوريرو، نائب الرئيس التنفيذي في بنك الاحتياطي الاتحادي في نيويورك، والسيد/ شين أومالي، نائب رئيس إدارة التحقيقات ونائب رئيس قسم الإنفاذ في بنك الاحتياطي الاتحادي في نيويورك، والسيد/ ساركيز يوغورتدجيان، مساعد مدير مجلس المحافظين في نظام الاحتياط الفيدرالي في واشنطن. وقد شارك الدكتور ر. سيتارامان، الرئيس التنفيذي لبنك الدوحة، في ندوة تحت عنوان “تصنيفات مخاطر العملاء والطبيعة المتطورة للجرائم المالية” بتاريخ 15 أكتوبر 2014.

وقد سلط الدكتور ر. سيتارامان الضوء على الاتجاهات الحالية المتعلقة بالبنوك المراسلة قائلاً: “على البنوك أن تسعى لتوسيع نطاق شبكات البنوك المراسلة للحد من المخاطر المصاحبة وتعزيز الضوابط، والعمل على توسيع نطاق التغطية لكافة عملائهم، بالإضافة إلى التوسع الجغرافي من خلال بناء شراكات مصرفية جديدة. هذا وتحتاج البنوك في ظل وجود أنظمة مالية صارمة جديدة إلى إعادة تقييم وتعريف الأعمال. ومع وجود ضغوط على العائدات المصرفية، تتساءل العديد من البنوك الآن حول ما إذا كان بإمكانها الاستمرار في تقديم كافة أنواع الخدمات لجميع العملاء وفي كافة الأسواق في ظل ارتفاع التكاليف المتعلقة باللوائح التنظيمية الجديدة. وقد توسعت البنوك مؤخرًا في بناء الشراكات المصرفية العالمية بشكل انتقائي”.

وسلط الدكتور ر.سيتارامان الضوء على أهمية البنوك المراسلة في الشرق الأوسط، وقال: “في أعقاب الأزمة المالية عاودت خطابات الائتمان الظهور باعتبارها الحل الرئيسي لتخفيف تصاعد وتيرة المخاوف من مخاطر الائتمان. ولعبت البنوك المراسلة خلال الأزمة المالية دورا محوريا في ظل تراجع العديد من البنوك العالمية وتحولها نحو الأسواق المحلية، والتخلي عن قيود تمويل التجارة وتخفيف المخاطر. وأصبحت البنوك المحلية أكثر حيوية من حيث الأهمية بالنسبة للشركات المحلية والشركاء التجاريين الدوليين على حد سواء. وفيما يخص تأمين التعامل مع التدفقات التجارية فقد أثبتت البنوك المحلية أن معرفتها بالشركات المحلية تعتبر من الأسس التي يقوم عليها تدفق التجارة بالرغم من ارتفاع المخاطر الكامنة خلال الأزمة المالية”.

وتطرق الدكتور ر.سيتارامان في حديثه إلى الجوانب التنظيمية الخاصة بالبنوك المراسلة وقال: “لا تزال الجهات التنظيمية تعكف على فحص ممارسات إدارة المخاطر والعناية الواجبة في البنوك المراسلة بسبب المخاطر الكامنة المرتبطة بمعالجة المعاملات وكذلك الحالات التي تستخدم فيها حسابات البنوك المراسلة لتحويل الأموال غير المشروعة. وقد نتج عن الإجراءات التنظيمية الأخيرة فرض غرامات مالية قياسية، بالإضافة إلى أنها سلطت الضوء على نقاط الضعف لدى المؤسسات المالية عندما يكون هناك خلل في مجالات الحوكمة والعناية الواجبة الخاصة بالعميل وتقييم المخاطر ورصد المعاملات المشبوهة”.

وتحدث الدكتور/ ر. سيتارامان عن الجرائم المالية الأخيرة والدعاوى القضائية المتعلقة بمكافحة غسل الأموال التي تواجهها المؤسسات المالية، وقال: “لم تقم بعض البنوك بإجراءات العناية الواجبة الأساسية على بعض أصحاب الحسابات لديها، وتصنيف فئات المخاطر المناسبة، كما أن بعضها قد تجاهل التحذيرات المتعلقة بعدم كفاية أنظمة الرقابة لديها. كما أن مخالفة مبدأ “اعرف عميلك” تسبب في تعريض عدد من البنوك لمخاطر الاحتيال. كما أن هناك بعض البنوك التي لم تقم بفحص ومتابعة علاقات عملائها من الشركات مع الشخصيات ذات النفوذ السياسي. وفشلت بعض البنوك في تحديد المعاملات ذات المخاطر العالية. وقد عملت الجرائم المالية على زيادة العقوبات والغرامات المفروضة على البنوك، كما أنها أثرت على مخاطر السمعة”.

وتطرق الدكتور/ ر. سيتارامان إلى المجالات التي يجب التركيز عليها في برامج مكافحة غسل الأموال، وقال في هذا الصدد: “لا يجب الاستهانة بمبادرات وتدابير مكافحة غسل الأموال. ويجب على الإدارة العليا الإشراف على مكافحة غسل الأموال واتباع أساليب المعالجة القائمة على الحوكمة السليمة والهيكلة المناسبة والإجراءات الاستباقية، مع إدارة كافة التغييرات من خلال كوادر متخصصة. وتتضمن أهم المجالات التي يجب التركيز عليها إجراءات فتح الحسابات الجديدة، وعملية تحديد وفحص هوية العملاء، وتصنيف مخاطر العملاء، والعناية الواجبة المعززة، ومراقبة المعاملات، والإبلاغ. ومع تزايد تعقيد الجرائم السيبرانية، ويتعين على البنوك والمؤسسات المالية تعزيز مراقبتها للمعاملات القائمة على الإنترنت. وقد أدت العولمة إلى كسر الحواجز فيما يتعلق بمراقبة معاملات الصرف، وزادت وسائل الاستثمار المعقدة مثل المشتقات المالية وصناديق الاستثمار. كما أنه من المتوقع أن تتزايد صعوبة رصد وتتبع المعاملات المشبوهة، وعليه فإنه يتعين على البنوك أن تكون أكثر حرصًا ويقظة”.

وقد أصبحت الجرائم المالية من أكبر المخاطر التي تؤثر على سمعة صناعة الخدمات المالية في الآونة الأخيرة، وعليه يجب على البنوك أن تعزز من مكافحتها للجرائم المالية من أجل الحماية من مخاطر السمعة.

Banks should Strengthen their Fight Against Financial Crime to Protect Against Reputation Risks

US- MENA Private Sector Dialogue

The Union of Arab Banks hosted the 5th US- MENA Private Sector Dialogue on correspondent banking at BNY Mellon, New York on 14th and 15th October 2014. The speakers in this event include Mr. Thomas C. Baxter, Executive Vice President and General Counsel, Federal Reserve Bank of New York, Mr. Alberto Musalem Borrero, Exec. Vice President, Federal Reserve Bank of New York, Mr. Sean O’Malley, Deputy Chief Investigator & Vice President- Enforcement Division, Federal Reserve Bank of New York and Mr. Sarkis Yoghourtdjian, Assistant director – Board of governors, Federal Reserve System, Washington. Dr. R. Seetharaman participated in the session “Customer risk ratings and evolving nature of financial crime “on 15th October 2014

Speaking at the conference Dr. R. Seetharaman gave insight on current trends in correspondent banking. He said “Banks had looked forward to scale their vast correspondent-banking networks to reduce risks and strengthen controls, expand their client coverage and geographic reach by striking up new banking partnerships. However with the onslaught of new financial regulation banks need to reassess and redefine this business. With banking revenues under pressure, many banks are questioning whether they can continue to try to offer all services to all clients in all markets, combined with rising costs related to new regulations. Banks are selectively increased the global banking partnerships.”

Dr. R. Seetharaman highlighted the importance of correspondent banking in Middle East. He said “After crisis letters of credit re-emerged as the key solution for alleviating the spike in credit risk concerns. During the financial crisis, it was correspondent banking which played a pivotal role as many global banks retreated towards their home market, leaving constraints in trade funding and risk mitigation. Local banks became vital, both for local corporates and their international trading partners. When it came to securing the handling of trade flows despite a spike in perceived risks during the crisis local banks proved that their knowledge of local companies was critical to keeping trade flowing.”

Dr. R. Seetharaman gave insight on regulatory focus on correspondent banking. He said “Regulators continue to scrutinise due diligence and risk management practices in the Correspondent Banking arena due to the inherent risks associated with processing transactions as well as cases in which Correspondent Banking accounts have been used to move illicit funds. Recent regulatory actions have resulted in record-breaking financial penalties and have highlighted the vulnerabilities which financial institutions are exposed to when there are failures in in the areas of governance, client due diligence, risk assessment and transaction monitoring.“

Dr. R.Seetharaman gave highlights on recent Financial Crimes, AML lawsuits faced by financial institutions. He said “Certain banks failed to conduct basic due diligence on some of its account holders, assign the appropriate risk categories and ignored warnings that monitoring systems are not adequate. Violation of Know your customer (KYC) norms also exposed them to fraud risks. Certain banks failed to check and monitor the relationships its corporate customers had with politically exposed people. Some banks failed to identify high risk transactions. Financial crimes have increased the penalties for banks and also affected the reputation risks.”

Dr. R. Seetharaman gave insight on areas to focus in an AML program. He said “In order to be successful, AML initiatives cannot be left to business as usual. Senior management must sponsor AML with remediation being driven by governance, structure and process, and with all change being managed by a dedicated capability. The key areas to focus include new account opening procedures, sustained customer identification process, customer risk rating, enhanced due diligence and transaction monitoring and reporting. As cyber crime getting more sophisticated, the onus is on banks and financial institutions to be extra vigilant on web based transactions. Globalisation is breaking down of barriers with regard to exchange control and more sophisticated avenues of investments like derivatives and mutual funds, tracking suspicious transactions is bound to become more challenging, bankers need to be more diligent and vigilant.”

The financial crimes has emerged as one of the major risks affecting the reputation of financial services industry in recent times hence banks need to strengthen their fight against financial crimes to protect against reputation risks.